Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Montréal Region, Québec, Canada

Here's one from Montreal that Scott in Philly sent me. This is actually my first Canadian postcard, so I'm going to have to research whether Canada has counties. It looks like the province of Québec is divided into 17 administrative regions, but it seems like the Institut de la Statistique du Québec uses MRCG regions for county-equvalents (translated to english it means "geographical regional county municipalities")

But in any case, Montréal is in the Montréal adminitrative region of Quebec and the entire Montréal region is considered a "territory equivalent to a regional county municipality."

Turns out Québec has their own [weird] rules when it comes to county-equivalents, so I'll table the discussion of the rest of Canada until the time arises.

Thanks Scott!

No comments: